Sunny State of Mind



I DID IT!

Hola! Is anyone else ready for the weekend?! I am. I know I just got back from Florida, but I am so not ready for “work mode” yet, UGH. I am still in Florida mode and work is NOT in my FL schedule 😉 Monday I got home at 2ish and worked until 4 and came home and hung out with Jason and Twix. Yesterday I worked until 4 and studied throughout the day for my Staff Sergeant Board. No news to tell of Monday and Tuesday really. Except for the fact that I was so ready to get back into somewhat of a routine. One week away from home and I was thrown out of my “norm” -freely and loving it, of course. So Tuesday morning I woke up and made my yummy mix of oatmeal plus an individual size Benefiber (tasteless!) and an icy coffee!


I was CRAVING this meal! I tried to duplicate it once in FL, but *sigh*, no Bees Knees or Almond milk in sight. Bummer. There is a woman at work who is retiring and the Maintenance Squadron held a Pot Luck for her with all kinds of YUMMY food! I was a good girl and, knowing how much I splurged (and loved every minute!) in FL, I decided to nab some carrots, celery, broccoli, and cauliflower with about a TBLS of low-cal ranch for dipping. For the main course I had a heaping bowl of HOTTTT chili with some oyster crackers and I shared a home-made oatmeal chocolate chip bar with Jason – sooo goooood! 🙂 (by share I mean I gave Jason UNO bitO)

I hit a PR yesterday!!! I ran 6(.3) MILES in 60:06!!! I was not too concerned with timing. I was more focused on hitting that 6 mile mark and I DID IT!!!! I wanted to see how I felt and if I could even run, a 10K (on the treadmill). This is officially the farthest I have EVER run! I have used a treadmill for all of my runs thus far, however, I do intend to hit the open road a few times here soon. Also, my fiance’ told me today that they hold 5K and 10K (ETC) races in Afghanistan!! So I am looking forward to getting my run on in the desert. 🙂 Stay tuned in April-July time frame for updates!

I have really been wanting to try TOFU so last night Jason agreed to try it with me. Jason cooked dinner while I studied. He did such a great job with the tofu. He seasoned it with a Blazin’ Cajun Rub we got at a festival over the summer, A1 sauce, Worcestershire, Lowery’s, Garlic Salt, and S&P. Then he cooked the tofu in extra virgin olive oil. The outside of the tofu was crispy and the inside was tender and smooshey. It had a weird texture in the middle like…a….a soggy french toast! But the flavor was delish so I got over the texture fast. On the side was a California Medley of broccoli, carrots, zucchini, squash, and cauliflower (seasoned) and some chicken broccoli rice. Turned out FAB!

I give TOFU two thumbs up! I will definitely eat this again.

On to TODAY: WEDNESDAY

Jason and I had to be AT WORK at 3:30 A.M. I woke up at 2 (WOAH BABY!) and had my usual oatmeal and I had a cup of hot coffeeJOE because it was FREEZING up in this mother! Brrrr! I worked all morning and studied in between because my BOARD was today!!! I am pleased to announce that I GOT PROMOTED!! :):) You can now refer to me as “Staff Sergeant Kolesar” – EEEKK!! I have waited 4 years to get out of the “Airman” range. I DID IT!!! I was super nervous all month about this promotion. I mean, I know I deserve it and I work my buns off, so the evidence is all there. I just hate interviews and being in a room with (3) superiors with lots of questions about ME and MY opinion. Talk about some anxiety building up -PHEW! But, I made it through and surprised myself! I hate when I have self-doubt about things that I know I am damn well capable of doing – Grrr, it’s frustrating. I chalk it up to a fear of FAILURE. Then I suck it up and do what I know I can do and kick that fear to the curb!! 🙂 Movin’ on up! Woop Woop!

Now it’s time for din din and a celebratory cocktail (or 2 ;)). Here is a sneak peek at dinner:

Jason made porkchops dipped in egg (scrambled) and Italian bread crumbs and fried in 1.5 TBLSP EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) and a green bean casserole with 2 cans green beans, 1 can cream of mushroom soup (low sodium), and crumbled saltines on top and baked! Looks good! I am so glad Jason can cook 🙂 Top this meal off with some vodka OJ (screwdriver) and it’s a wrap!

Hope you all had a great Hump Day!

-Toodles!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * rundadrun says:

    First of all, THANK YOU for your service! And congrats on the promotion! And further congrats on your 1st 6 miler. You have a lot to celebrate. Keep up the good work and the great posts.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. I’m so proud of you, Kim!!! I know you were super nervous about. I’m so, so, so, so glad you got it 😀

    And look at you! Almond milk and tofu? Heck yeah 🙂 I have a super good recipe for a tofu marinade if you’d like it!
    Get ahold, chica

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

