Sunny State of Mind



Hope you have an hour for this….

Howdy, bloggerinos! Holy blizzards, Batman!! Will the snow ever end?!? BAH!

Dear Spring,
HURRY! That is all.

-Kim
šŸ˜‰

How did the weekend treat ya? I was nursing a hangover on Sunday. I hit up the downtown bar scene on Saturday night with a girlfriend I haven’t hung out with for a while. Oh BOY… we tore it up pretty good, too. PHEW. I get hungover so easily, it stinks. BUUUUTT…Totally worth it.

For dinner Saturday night, we went to Bennigan’s. I thought the food was terrible, but ate my chicken quesediLLa anyway. No plans to go back. Then we walked to Sully’s (Irish pub). They had good drink specials and music. Then we ventured down the street to Carbon. Carbon is a dance club that plays mostly rap/hip-hop remixed into a techno song. We danced a few songs and mingled. All in all it was a fabulous evening.


It was mardi-gras weekend. Becky and I are classy gals and kept our tops on šŸ™‚ And still got beads! WOOP!

The rest of my weekend was pretty laid back and uneventful. Jason went back to Wisconsin for a “guys weekend” full of beers and ice fishing. Brrr! So Twix and I stayed at the homestead to hold down the fort.
When Jason finally got home he looked as miserable as I did. We both stayed horizontal on the couch for the rest of the night.

For lunch that day I made a simple salmon and spinach salad with yellow pepper, tomato, and honey mustard dressing.


For dinner I threw a chuck roast, carrots, mushrooms, potatoes, onion, and beef broth in a crock pot and let it sit all day. I was in no mood to cook, and I was getting no productivity out of the fiance’ either. T.K.O.!

I could not sleep that night. šŸ˜¦ Between Twix hopping around everywhere, Jason snoring, my father and sister calling, my friend Tony texting, and my stomach turning into knots (PHEW!), I got 0 ZZZ’s. So, instead of being a cranky lady (or a “negative Nelly”:P) I decided to call in to work “sick”. It was wonderful. I always feel so guilty when I call in sick (even when I am really sick), but I knew it was in my best interest. I felt like a million bucks when I woke up!

I cleaned the entire apartment (including my arch nemesis- LAUNDRY! – BAH!). I nabbed a Trail Mix Cliff Bar and high tailed it to the gym for an easy 3 miler. No real rhyme or reason to this run. I mainly just wanted to clear my head, cleanse my bod (a.k.a. sweat out the toxins from weekend destruction), and just “go with the flow”. It was so relaxing. I came home and busted out some ab exercises and stretched. After I cleaned up, I made a yummy imitation crab meat and spinach salad.

I added tomato, yellow pepper, and topped with low-fat honey mustard (I’m a little addicted to this dressing right now.)

GAH! Sooo scrumptious!

And a side of kiwi sprinkled with cinnamon.

When Jason came home from work we went to H&R Block to file my taxes! šŸ™‚
All good news!

Monday night din din:

Fried porkchops in EVOO (extra virgin olive oil). Dipped in scrambled eggs and then in Italian bread crumbs prior to frying. A side of fresh steamed veggies. To include: mushrooms, yellow squash, zucchini, and broccoli- NOM!

For an appetizer, I made one home-made sushi roll.

It had cucumber, imitation crab meat, avacado, and onion & chive cream cheese. Of course, no sushi roll would be complete without light sodium soy sauce and wasabi! Mmmmmm…..

Desert was a stow away bottle of wine. Jason was on a trip (for work) in D.C. and snagged this bottle from his hotel room. Everyone loves FREE! It wasn’t the best wine ever, but it was FREE and drinkable.

Back to food! We loved the sushi combo so much, in fact, that Jason made TWO when we got home from the gym tonight! šŸ™‚ He made rolls and I made a quick run to Naturally Yours for a few items. My main reason for the trip was for some Millet Bread (gluten-free), but I ALWAYS end up buying more stuff. I am so curious I want to try it all!

Here are a few items I have acquired recently:



2 new flavors of Vegan Cookies. One is Dark Chocolate Decadence and the other is Explosive Espresso Chip! I had a Chocolate Chip, coconut, Macadamia Nut cookie for breakfast/midday snack (they are pretty big and filling so I had to eat half now and half later) and it was FAB. I still have a Cranberry Orange Muffin Cookie to try as well! I also picked up some pears and more kiwi and the Millet Bread.

I am trying to down this coconut water as I write this, but I just cannot seem to like it. It is not bad…it’s just weird. It probably takes some getting used to.

Here are a few items I bought and stuff I made a few days ago and also a few new books!


Gluten-Free Tortilla Shells = GROSS! Terrible texture and absolutely no flavor. EPIC FAIL.


Chicken Fajitas: green pepper, onion, mushrooms, salsa, pinto beans, and jalapenos. SUCCESS! minus the shells, of course.


Veggie Omelet topped with salsa and an iced coffee. Always a good choice.


This disturbing looking creation is a no-bake cookie! Chocolatey peanut buttery goodness! SUCCESS!

If you are still with me (and kudos to you if you are, this is a long one!) lets take a peak at….

BOOKS:


“Big Book of Exercises” I ordered this from Women’s Health and love it! It explains all the exercises so even I can understand them. They also have a gazillion exercises in this book and different plans. I am currently doing the “Bikini Body” Plan :P. So far so good!


“The Gluten Connection” I have only read a couple pages, but it seems to be very interesting. I will discuss more about this whole gluten debacle in another blog and tell you what I thought of this book!

Thanks for hanging in there for this rather lengthy blogging sesh! (You must have had an hour to spare to read this :P) Hope you had a FAB weekend!! Catch ya on the flip side! šŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. You should have been here in Vancouver – it is like spring already! The last week was warm and sunny šŸ™‚

    Mmmm I love Kiwi’s and they sound fab with cinnamon on them.

    Have a great night!

    XXOO

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago
    • * Kimberly says:

      Thanks for stopping by! šŸ™‚ I am so ready for spring! The days are finally getting longer which makes me extremely happy! And it is almost March already so it will not be much longer until everyone can rock short sleeves and ban coats! šŸ™‚ YAY!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

